March 13, 2015

Rivers of Andhra Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh Rivers Godavari, Krishna, Tungabhadra, Penna and Manjeera


There are many rivers in Andhra Pradesh. As the land is high in North-West and slopes towards South-East, all the rivers flow Eastwards and join Bay of Bengal. All the rivers are rain-fed. The important rivers in Andhra Pradesh are 
  • Godavari
  • Krishna
  • Tungabhadra
  • Penna
  • Manjeera.

The river Godavari is the longest among all the rivers of South India. This river, which is 1584 Kilometers long originates in Western Ghats at Triyambak near Nasik in Maharashtra. It enters Andhra Pradesh near Basar in Adilabad District. It flows to a length of about 770 Kilometers in Andhra Pradesh. Some of the important tributaries of Godavari are Manjeera, Pranhita, Indravati, Kinnerasani, Sabari, Sileru e.t.c., An Anicut is built over this river at Dowleiswaram near Rajahmundry. At the lower reaches near Rajahmundry, Godavari divides into three major distributories called Gouthami, Vasishta and Vainateya and finally reaches Bay of Bengal after forming a delta.


Originating in the Western Ghats near Mahabaleswar in Maharashtra, the river Krishna flows Eastwards and enters Andhra Pradesh at Thangadi in Mahaboobnagar District. After joining with its tributary Tungabhadra, at Sangam in Kurnool district, it flows across Srisailam, and Vijayawada and reaches Bay of Bengal near Hamsaladeevi. Its total length is 1440 Kilometers. The length of Krishna river in Andhra Pradesh is about 720 Kilometers. Prakasam Barrage was constructed on the Krishna river at Vijayawada, and a road was laid over it. At a distance of 64 Kilometers, from Vijayawada, the river Krishna divides into two distributories and again merge into one. The area in between these two distributories is called "Diviseema". Nagarjuna Sagar Dam was built across the river Krishna at Nandikonda. This Dam is one of the biggest dams in India. One more dam was constructed at Srisailam. Hydro-Electricity is also being generated from waters of the reservoirs of these dams. The important tributaries of the river Krishna are Tungabhadra, Dindi, Palem, Koyana, Varna, Panchagana, Musi, Bheema, Ghantaprabha, Munneru, etc.


This river is a coalition of twin tributaries of Tunga and Bhadra which originate in Varaha hills in Western Ghats in Karnataka. Tungabhadra joins Krishna river in Kurnool district. It is the longest of all tributaries of Krishna river. A dam was constructed across Tungabhadra at Hospet in Karnataka for irrigation purpose and for generation of Hydel power.


It originates in Nandi Durga hills in Karnataka. It enters Andhra Pradesh in Anantapur district and joins Bay of Bengal at Vutukur in Nellore district after flowing through Cuddapah and Nellore districts. Jayamangali, Sagileru, Papaghni, Chitravati, Cheyyeru are the tributaries of Penna river. Somasila project was built across this river.


This originates in Maharashtra in the Balaghat hills. It passes through Medak district in Andhra Pradesh and joins Godavari. It is important among the tributaries in Godavari. Nizamsagar project is constructed across this tributary.

No comments:

Post a Comment