March 04, 2015

Andhra Pradesh Geography detailed infromation


The state of Andhra was formed with Kurnool as its capital on 1st Oct, 1953 as a result of the fast unto death of Sri Potti Sreeramulu. But Andhra Pradesh was formed on 1st Nov, 1956 comprising the then Andhra State and Telangana (Telugu speaking region) of the former State of Hyderabad is the capital of Andhra Pradesh. It is situated in the South-East of India. It's area is 275,068 Sq. Kms. Andhra Pradesh occupies fourth place in area among the states of India. The other big states in area in order are Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharashtra.

Andhra Pradesh is in the Indian Peninsula. To the North of Andhra Pradesh there are States of Chattisgarh and Orissa, Tamilnadu is on the South, Maharashtra is on the North-West, Karnataka on the West and Bay of Bengal on the East. Andhra Pradesh has a long coastal line of 972 Kilometers. There are 23 Districts in Andhra Pradesh. Anantapur District is the biggest in area and Hyderabad District is the smallest.

Basing on physical, social and economical conditions, Andhra Pradesh can be divided into 3 regions. They are:
  • Coastal Andhra
  • Rayalaseema
  • Telangana
In the above stated three regions Telangana is divided as a separate State.

Coastal Andhra

There are 9 districts on coastal Andhra. They are Srikakulam, Vijayanagaram, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore. The area of Coastal Andhra region is 92,900 square kilometers. This region has the fertile deltas of the rivers, Godavari, Krishna and Penna. A major portion of food commercial crops that are grown in Andhra Pradesh are from this region. Hence the coastal Andhra region is known as "Granary of South India". As this region is agriculturally well developed, it is equally well developed in trade and transport sectors. Hence the highest concentration of population is found in this region. There are many industries based on agricultural produce. Heavy and large scale industries like Steel plant, Caltex Oil, Refinery, Shipbuilding, Bharat Heavy Plates and vessels, Hindustan Zinc, Coromandal Fertilizers etc., are also found here.


There are 4 districts in Rayalaseema. They are Chittoor, Cuddapah, Kurnool and Anantapur. Rayalaseema region extends over an area of 67,400 square kilometers. The density of population is very scarce in this region because it is well known for droughts and famines since ancient times. Economically this region is very backward compared to the other two regions. This region comprises of rocky area and infertile soils with very little and unsuitable rainfall. Industrially also this region is very backward.


Here we already stated as above Telangana is declared as a separate State. Telangana state comprises of 10 districts. They are Mahaboobnagar, Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nizamabad, Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warangal, Khammam and Nalagonda districts. This state comprises an area of 114,800 square kilometers. Much of the population living in this region are illiterate and poor. Most of the area is covered with dry and barren land. So, upland crops are grown with the help of available tank water industrially. Telangana is well developed when compared with other two regions. Many industries are located around Hyderabad - Secunderabad. Some parts of this region are gradually developing in agricultural sector also with the introduction of different irrigation schemes.

No comments:

Post a Comment